|WKSR: Archived News
Texting Law In Alabama Results In 60+ Citations
Posted on January 02, 2013
A new law aimed at reducing the number of Alabama drivers distracted by text messaging has resulted in only 59 tickets statewide and only one in Athens.
The law, which passed in May but took effect August 1st, made texting while driving illegal in the state.
In the five months since its inception, Alabama state troopers have issued 59 citations. Athens Police have issued one.
Catching a driver in the act of texting makes enforcing the law difficult.
Alabama State Patrol officials say they issued the 59 citations, and they’ve heard of only seven citations written by other law enforcement agencies in the state.
Athens Police Department issued one citation for texting while driving in November. The 21-year-old driver was sentenced to serve 19 days in jail or pay a fine and court costs of $290. Athens Police said it is difficult to determine whether a driver is texting, in part, because when they see a police cruiser they stop.
Under the law, conviction on the charge results in a fine of $25 for a first offense, $50 for a second and $75 for subsequent offenses. Each conviction results in a two-point penalty for a licensed driver.